

Housing & Community Safety Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Tuesday 24 March 2015
7.00 pm
Ground Floor Meeting Room G01B - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Membership

Michael Orey

Councillor Tom Flynn (Chair)
Councillor Ben Johnson (Vice-Chair)
Councillor Vijay Luthra
Councillor Claire Maugham
Councillor Damian O'Brien
Councillor Martin Seaton
Councillor Johnson Situ
Cris Claridge
Miriam Facey
John Nosworthy

Reserves

Councillor Neil Coyle
Councillor Karl Eastham
Councillor Gavin Edwards
Councillor David Hubber
Councillor Lorraine Lauder MBE
Councillor Hamish McCallum

INFORMATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

Access to information

You have the right to request to inspect copies of minutes and reports on this agenda as well as the background documents used in the preparation of these reports.

Babysitting/Carers allowances

If you are a resident of the borough and have paid someone to look after your children, an elderly dependant or a dependant with disabilities so that you could attend this meeting, you may claim an allowance from the council. Please collect a claim form at the meeting.

Access

The council is committed to making its meetings accessible. Further details on building access, translation, provision of signers etc for this meeting are on the council's web site: www.southwark.gov.uk or please contact the person below.

Contact Fitzroy Williams on 020 7525 7102 or email: fitzroy.williams@southwark.gov.uk

Members of the committee are summoned to attend this meeting

Eleanor Kelly Chief Executive Date: 16 March 2015



Item No. Title



Housing & Community Safety Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Tuesday 24 March 2015
7.00 pm
Ground Floor Meeting Room G01B - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Order of Business

Item No. Title Page No.

PART A - OPEN BUSINESS

- 1. APOLOGIES
- 2. NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE CHAIR DEEMS URGENT

In special circumstances, an item of business may be added to an agenda within five clear working days of the meeting.

3. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

Members to declare any interests and dispensations in respect of any item of business to be considered at this meeting.

4. MINUTES

To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the open section of the meeting held on Tuesday 24th February 2015.

5. CABINET MEMBER FOR HOUSING INTERVIEW - COUNCILLOR RICHARD LIVINGSTONE

The cabinet member for housing has particular accountability for:

- · Housing Asset strategy including making all council homes warm, dry and safe and delivering a quality kitchen and bathroom for every tenant;
- · meeting tenant and leaseholder expectations of major works contracts;
- · housing services;
- · housing allocations;
- · community housing including homelessness and sheltered housing
- · housing repairs;
- · engaging with council tenants and leaseholders;
- · delivering a new leaseholder management company;
- · rehousing arrangements as part of major regeneration projects;
- · licensing and standards of private rented sector landlords;
- · Quality of estate environment including communal repairs, cleaning and pest control;
- · lettings policy, and with the cabinet member for environment, recycling, community safety and volunteering, policy on illegal subletting and estate security.

6. HOUSING REPAIRS - REPORT

DISCUSSION OF ANY OTHER OPEN ITEMS AS NOTIFIED AT THE START OF THE MEETING.

PART B - CLOSED BUSINESS

DISCUSSION OF ANY CLOSED ITEMS AS NOTIFIED AT THE START OF THE MEETING AND ACCEPTED BY THE CHAIR AS URGENT.

Date: 16 March 2015

HOUSING & COMMUNITY SAFETY SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2014-15

AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN)

NOTE: Original held by Scrutiny Team; all amendments/queries to Fitzroy Williams Tel: 020 7525 7102

Name	No of	Name	No of
	copies		copies
Sub-Committee Members		Council Officers	
Councillor Tom Flynn (Chair)	1	Gerri Scott, Strategic Director of Housing	1
Councillor Ben Johnson (Vice-Chair)	1	& Community Services	
Councillor Vijay Luthra	1	Deborah Collins, Strategic Director of	1
Councillor Claire Maugham	1	Environment & Leisure	4
Councillor Damian O'Brien Councillor Martin Seaton	1	Jonathan Toy, Head of Community Safety	1
Councillor Martin Seaton Councillor Johnson Situ	1	and Enforcement Shelley Burke, Head of Overview &	1
Councillor Johnson Situ	ı	Scrutiny	1
Reserves		Aine Gallagher, Political Assistant	1
110301703		Niko Baar, Liberal Democrat Political	1
Councillor Neil Coyle	1	Assistant	•
Councillor Karl Eastham	1	Tania Robinson, Executive Assistant	1
Councillor Gavin Edwards	1	Barbara Asaam, Executive Assistant	1
Councillor David Hubber	1	Fitzroy Williams, Scrutiny Team SPARES	10
Councillor Lorraine Lauder	1		
Councillor Hamish McCallum	1		
One Labour vacancy			
		Total:	37
Co-Opted Members		Detects Issue 0044	
Michael Oray (Hamaayyaara' Caynail)	4	Dated: June 2014	
Michael Orey (Homeowners' Council) John Nosworthy (Homeowners' Council	1 1		
Reserve)	ı		
Miriam Facey (Tenants' Council Reserve)	1		
Cris Claridge (Tenants' Council)	1		
one chanage (Fernance council)	•		
Other Members			
Other Weitibers			
Councillor Richard Livingstone	1		
Councillor Michael Situ	1		